When Crap Hits the Fan

I’ve taken a few days to consider what happened before writing about it.  Some might say I should take a few more, but here we are.

Last week, I wrote a post advocating mask wearing and linked it to going the extra mile and showing kindness to your neighbor. 

Unbeknownst to me, I entered the nuclear launch codes because missiles began flying.

Publicly, I was accused of mishandling scripture, binding the conscience of believers and living in fear.  

Privately?  

Oh my…oh my…. 

That’s where the fun is.  

Private messages and texts began flying in. 

From people who I thought were friends…

People who work in the same industry as I do…

And from some folks I don’t even know.

What did they say to me regarding that post?

Here’s a sampling…

“Stop living in fear.”

“If you truly believed in science, you’d lose 200 pounds because if you don’t – science says you’ll die.”

“I wish you were dead…like your Dad.”

“Stop believing lies. The scientists are part of a plot to take over our lives. Wake up and see the truth.”

There are at least 25 more messages like those.  

Some with even harsher words.

I’ve spent the last four days shocked, dazed and confused.  

I’ve also spent the last four days blocking people because crazy doesn’t get a key to our house.

A friend called over the weekend too vent.

He’s stepping down at his church.   

Why?  

Because he takes the virus seriously but the rest of the leadership doesn’t. 

He’s been getting phone calls telling him he isn’t a leader and so on.  

Sad.  

So this is where we are as a nation and as people who follow Jesus?

We try to destroy those who disagree with us or at the minimum, shame them into submission.

Getting messages from people saying that they wish I was dead, all because I advocate wearing a mask…and those messages come from people who claim to be Christians…what in the actual H***….

Taking a swipe at my weight and size, that’s classy. 

Before you think I’m weak, just stop.

I can take the heat.  

I lead an organization.  It’s my calling.

I can take the heat.

But I can’t handle the crap.  

Because it is nonsense. 

What do you do when crap hits the fan?

Turn off the fan. 

The vitriol is simply over the top.   

The division is simply too deep.

So here’s where I’ve landed.   

I won’t be having the conversations online anymore.  

Why?

You can’t reason with crazy.  

I honestly believed that logic, reason, common sense and science would win the day.  

I thought people dying would change minds.

Seeing little kids on ventilators and children dying would sway opinions.  

I was wrong.  

It hasn’t changed minds.

It’s simply made us mean and angry.   

K and I will make good choices for the two of us.

I’ll continue to lead PAR and in conjunction with our leaders, we’ll make decisions to keep our teams safe as well as our listeners and donors. 

We’ll continue to advise our Moms on things they should do and not do.

But you won’t get another post from me about Covid, mask wearing and so on. 

Instead of trying to change minds, I’m going to lead quietly and try to take care of those within my orbit.  

I didn’t write this to get sympathy.

Please don’t comment with, “I’m so sorry…” and so on.

I wrote this to beg you to be kind. 

Show grace.

Give mercy. 

Stop throwing crap at people.

It isn’t a good look. 

Brian

9/7/21

Leave a comment